Follow

Why is my Buyer's money being automatically refunded?

If you receive a notification that your Buyer's money in the Escrow account is being automatically refunded to them, one of two things will have happened in keeping with PPH terms and conditions:

  • the funds are held as a deposit for a custom Job, and there hasn't been any activity in the WorkStream for a very long period of time (30 days or more) indicating the job has been cancelled or finished.
  • the funds are held after your Buyer purchased your Hourlie service; and the deadline for delivering your service has long since passed without an invoice being raised to indicate the work has been delivered (30 days or more).

 

My Buyer shouldn't get a refund / I need to get paid!

In all cases before any funds are automatically refunded to your Buyer you will first receive notifications reminding you to take action if your Buyer should not receive a refund.   If for any reason you didn't see or act on these reminders, the money was automatically refunded and yet the job is still in progress you can:

  • raise a new deposit request to your Buyer for the funds to be returned to the Escrow account as security, or
  • raise your invoice for payment the Buyer as normal when the job has been completed.  Your Buyer will be asked to pay the full amount (and they can re-use the funds moved from the Escrow account into their PPH wallet).  

Please note that if your Buyer received an automatic refund because you did not deliver the service within the agreed timescales they are entitled to reject any deposit requests or invoices, and cancel the job. 

 

Will I get a 1 star feedback?

If your Buyer is automatically refunded in this way you will automatically receive a 1 star feedback rating because it will be assumed that you did not deliver the job.    However, remember you can prevent the automatic refund with this automatic penalty by acting on the reminders you have received:

1) if the job (custom Jobs not Hourlies) is still in progress you should post an update message to your Buyer in the WorkStream, or

2) completing the job and raising your invoice for payment; or

3) issuing your Buyer a refund.   If it is clear in your WorkStream that the cancellation is due to your Buyer and not a problem with your delivery of the job (remember all communications should be via the WorkStream) then you will not be penalised.

 

Find out more:

Was this article helpful?
6 out of 8 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments