Report Abuse
AnsweredHi,
I cannot see a button reporting abuse, so I have decided to contact you. I am confident that the post from Aldous R. isn't legit (here's the link http://www.peopleperhour.com/job/sales-consultant-needed-601079) as unfortunately, I have been scammed exactly like this in the past on a different freelancer website as a newbie. Buyer asks you to contact you on his Gmail account and asks you to sell some expensive items on Ebay through your own Ebay ID. They promise to pay you certain amount (£150 ironically in this and in the past case) as a commission that you will keep from the sale and you will then forward them rest of the money for sale onto him and they will issue tracking details for the item they supposedly shipped. Like I said, this happened to me via freelancer.com and the result was following: I sold some very expensive coins on ebay for £400, kept my commission of £150 and stupidly sent the rest via Paypal to a person that I have never heard from since. Obviously the coins were never shipped and I ended up paying the full £400 refund back to the eBay Buyer (not to mention my carefully watched Ebay feedback score was ruined) from my own pocket(Paypal refunded it from my account and restricted me from selling on eBay). I thought, well if Paypal is so safe and can refund buyer from the Ebay, I should be able to get my money back from that crook that I got hooked up with via freelancer.com, as I have sent him the money through Paypal also. Well, it didn't work for me this way as the transaction between me and the crook wasn't an eBay transaction, so I was advised to go to the police. And I have never seen my money back. Very nicely done fraud.
Sorry for the whole story above but I though you should be aware of people like this, as that experience have put me off using the freelancer.com website forever.
This guy Aldous from the job listing (link above) has approached me in the exactly same manner, with that difference that he wants me to sell an engraving machine for him, he has the whole description and listing set, has pictures etc., just wants me to sell it through my own eBay ID and I will get £150. Sounds like a fantastic job,so I am asking myself, why would he pay £150 to someone just to copy his own text and upload his own pictures, when he can do it himself (registering on ebay is dead easy)? I have also done a little research on the internet and I couldn't find anyone with a name of Aldous Rusby on any of the social networks or basically anywhere.
Thank you for looking into this.
Best regards,
Barbora
-
Hello. I believe I am being scammed by an account that got deleted after I did excruciatingly difficult work for them. Now they are saying I have to pay them $200 to link my bank to something I can't even explain before they pay me. The account name is Gerry. K. I can provide all the evidence. Please help.
Please sign in to leave a comment.

Comments
32 comments